Board of Directors

leah-anaka-bent-arrowLeah N. Anaka (President) graduated from the University of Alberta Faculty of Law in 1998. Prior to joining Field LLP, Leah worked in software development and design until June 2008. In April 2009, Leah began her articles and was admitted to the Alberta bar in 2010. She joined the firm of Field in July 2010.  Leah is currently a member of a legal team representing hundreds of Aboriginal clients pursuing claims for damages suffered while at Church and Government-run Residential Schools. She also practices Labour and Employment Law.

don-padget-bent-arrowDon Padget (Vice President) practices constitutional law with Alberta’s Department of Justice. Previously, he practiced Aboriginal law with the Federal Department of Justice where he worked to resolve Indian residential school claims, learned more about Aboriginal cultures and history and was seconded to the office of the Assistant Deputy Attorney General, Aboriginal Law. He has worked at a private law firm and appeared in courts at all levels.

Don has enjoyed work within three branches of the public service: as Policing and Law Enforcement Assistant for the Federal Solicitor General, as Law Clerk with the Federal Court of Appeal, and as a Parliamentary Intern for several M.P.s.

Don is on the Board of the U of A Centre for Constitutional Studies, co-chair of the Canadian Bar’s Constitutional and Human Rights law subsection in Edmonton, and volunteers for the Edmonton Community Legal Centre. Don holds a B.Soc.Sci. (Ottawa), M.A. (Politics), LL.B. (Alberta), and a Masters in Constitutional law. Don was born and raised in Edmonton.

john-matthewson-bent-arrowJohn Mathewson (Member) was born in Montreal in 1941 and graduated from McGill University with a Bachelor of Electrical Engineering in 1962. He spent the majority of his working career (30 years) with IBM Canada. Since his retirement in 1998, John has served on several boards including the Alberta Consumers Association, The Edmonton Riverview Liberal Constituency Association, and currently treasurer for the Bent Arrow Traditional Healing Society. In addition, he is actively involved with the Edmonton Food Bank and the St. Vincent de Paul Society.



LeveyPicAndrea Levey (Member) Andrea Levey is a mixed heritage Anishinaabe woman who grew up in British Columbia.  Andrea graduated from MacEwan University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Sociology, specializing in Youth, Diversity and Gender.  After graduation, she worked at the Women’s Emergency Accommodation Center for a short while, learning much about the community of Edmonton.  Andrea currently has the position of Indigenous Relations Coordinator for the Edmonton Police Service where she has worked for over three years, working to build community and alter the structure of our current systems.  Andrea is the Co-Chair of R.I.S.E. (Reconciliation in Solidarity Edmonton) and works with Edmontonians to build spaces for reconciliation.


Owen Edmondson (Treasurer), a native Edmontonian, retired in September, 2011, after a 32 year career with ATCO Ltd. During his career he held several senior financial executive positions and completed his career as Executive Vice President, Finance and Regulatory, ATCO Utilities. Over the years, Owen has also served on the Board of Directors of several not-for-profit organizations including Catholic Social Services, Calgary Catholic Family Service, and Capital Regional Housing Corporation. Currently he is a director for both Bent Arrow and the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Alberta.

Married to Janet for 37 years, Owen is the father of four daughters, all teachers. In his spare time, the sports enthusiast travels, runs marathons, hikes, and is fan of the local festival scene.

Shalene Jobin (Secretary)

John Morgan (Honorary Member) graduated from the University of British Columbia in 1952 with an electrical engineering degree. He started working for an electrical consulting company in 1953 and retired in 1996. John is the father of the late Shauna Seneca and was the first president of Bent Arrow. John is considered a lifetime member of Bent Arrow.